Bobcats Announce Year-End Award Winners

This article is over 11 years old.

BRANDON, MB – A pair of fifth-year volleyball players have been named outstanding male and female athletes of the year for the Brandon University Bobcats. Jon Sloane of Winchester, Ontario was named the R.J. McCarthy Outstanding Male Athlete while Jaryn Ruether of Grande Prairie, Alberta was named the Nancy Stanley Outstanding Female Athlete for the 2011-2012 season.

The two recently ended their playing careers with BU Athletics after each spending three years with the Bobcats. Sloane graduates with a number of school records including hitting percentage for a season (.507) which he set in 2010-2011. Ruether was among the Canada West conference leaders in kills, digs, and points, and led this year’s Bobcat squad in kills and points.

Other major award winners include Kyle Vince who took home the Doug Crandle Memorial Award for student-athlete achievement for the second straight year. The fifth-year product of J.H. Bruns Collegiate in Winnipeg also just completed his playing career as a Bobcat and will go down as one of the best 3-point shooters in school history.

Fellow men’s basketball player James Elias was the recipient of the Jim Casey Award for Sportsmanship while first-year women’s basketball player Kaela Cranston won the H.S. Perdue Award.

Canada West rookie of the year Ilarion Bonhomme was awarded the Jerry Hemmings men’s basketball MVP, while fellow rookie stand out Aimee Johnston was named the women’s basketball MVP. Johnston also took home team rookie of the year honours.

Sloane was named men’s volleyball team MVP, while sophomore outside hitter Tori Dakin was named women’s volleyball team MVP.

The following is a complete list of all award winners from the 2011-2012 season:
Women’s Basketball
Rookie of the Year – Aimee Johnston
Leadership Award – Raisa Rybinski
Tracy McLeod Inspirational Award – Jayla Bousquet
Most Valuable Player – Aimee Johnston

Men’s Basketball
Rookie of the Year – Ali-Mounir Benabdelhak
Leadership Award – Jordan Reaves
James O Dolling Inspirational Award – Donovan Gayle
Jerry Hemmings Most Valuable Player – Ilarion Bonhomme

Women’s Volleyball
Rookie of the Year – Shanlee McLennan
Daryle McCannell Inspirational Award – Kellie Baker
Leadership Award – Claire Willerton
Most Valuable Player – Tori Dakin

Men’s Volleyball
Rookie of the Year – Ben Glue
Leadership Award – Garrett Popplestone
Bill Gadd Inspirational Award – Sam Tuivai
Most Valuable Player – Jon Sloane

Major Awards

H. Stuart Perdue Memorial Award – Kaela Cranston
Jim Casey Memorial Award – James Elias
Doug Crandle Award & the Men’s Basketball Student-Athlete Achievement Award – Kyle Vince
Student Union Service Award:
Alanna Johnston
Chantel Gaslard
Jordan Reaves
James Elias
Dan Boutwell
Jon Sloane
Lindsay McLaughlin
Kellie Baker
Claire Willerton
Jaryn Ruether

Nancy Stanley Award Outstanding Female Athlete – Jaryn Ruether
R.J. McCarthy Award Outstanding Male Athlete – Jon Sloane

For more information on Brandon University Bobcats Athletics visit: / /

For more information, please contact:

Matt Packwood
Sports Administration Assistant
Brandon University
(204) 727-7375


To receive any BU publication in an alternate format please contact

About BU

Success is built at Brandon University. Our growing, progressive campus welcomes a diverse and inclusive community that combines proud tradition with shared ambition. Through our excellence in teaching, research, and scholarship, we educate students to make a meaningful difference as engaged citizens and leaders. Join us at