Bobcats’ Award Winners Announced

This article is over 12 years old.

BRANDON, MB – For the second year in a row graduating volleyball stars Teagan Hunter and Paul Sanderson have been named outstanding female and outstanding males athletes respectively.

Hunter wrapped up a fantastic five-year career as a Bobcat where she set school career records for kills (1,006), digs (945), and points (1193). Sanderson is also concluding a stellar CIS career. His name is all over the Canada West conference record book where he set numerous conference records including kills (1357), aces (144), and points (1574) just to name a few. He also holds numerous single match and single season records as well.

Individual team awards were also announced including team Most Valuable Players. Bobcat grad Sarah Lopes was named the women’s basketball MVP, while Isaiah James is MVP for the men’s basketball team. On the volleyball side, Souris, Manitoba product and fifth-year grad Becky Young was named MVP while Sanderson took home honours for the men’s volleyball team.

Other major award winners include academic all-Canadian Amanda Fortin who won the H. Stuart Perdue memorial award for sportsmanship and Saskatoon, Saskatchewan product Kyle Dellezay who took home the Jim Casey memorial award for sportsmanship.

Men’s basketball team captain Kyle Vince was the recipient of the Doug Crandle award for outstanding student-athlete achievement.

Seven Bobcats were honoured with Student Union service awards for three years of service. Winners are Sara Grona, Kyle Vince, Brendan Lyons, Scott Neufeld, Stephanie Lacey-Avon, Nicisha Johnson and Kelsey Solarchuk.

Canada West and CIS (Canadian Interuniversity Sport) award winners were also recognized. From the women’s volleyball team Teagan Hunter was recognized for being named a Canada West 1st team all-star and 2nd team all-canadian. Meaghan Robertson was named to the CIS all-rookie team. German import Donata Huebert was named both Canada West Libero of the Year and CIS Libero of the year. On the men’s volleyball team Jon Sloane was named a Canada West 2nd team all-star. Both Kevin Miller and Paul Sanderson were named tournament all-stars at the CIS national championship and Sanderson was also deemed a CIS all-Canadian.

Complete list of winners for the 2010-2011 Brandon Bobcats athletics season:

Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year: Madison Bradbury

Leadership Award: Kelsey Solarchuk

Tracy MacLeod Inspirational Award: Amanda Fortin

Most Valuable Player: Sarah Lopes

Men’s Basketball Rookie of the Year: Jimi Falana

Leadership Award: Kyle Vince

James O Dolling Inspirational Award: Brody Tegg

Jerry Hemmings Most Valuable Player: Isaiah James

Women’s Volleyball Rookie of the Year: Meaghan Robertson

Daryle McCannell Inspirational Award: Donata Huebert

Leadership Award: Sara Grona

Most Valuable Player: Becky Young

Men’s Volleyball Rookie of the Year: Brendan White

Leadership Award: Justin Pikel & Kevin Miller

Bill Gadd Inspirational Award: Shaun Funk

Most Valuable Player: Paul Sanderson

Special Awards

Doug Crandle Award — Student-Athlete Achievement Men’s Basketball: Kyle Vince

Student Union Service Award: (awarded for three years service) Sara Grona, Kyle Vince, Brendan Lyons, Scott Neufeld, Stephanie Lacey-Avon, Nicisha Johnson, Kelsey Solarchuk

Jim Casey Memorial Award for Sportsmanship: Kyle Dellezay

H. Stuart Perdue Memorial Award for Sportsmanship: Amanda Fortin

Nancy Stanley Award — Outstanding Female Athlete: Teagan Hunter

R.J. McCarthy Award — Outstanding Male Athlete: Paul Sanderson

For more information on Brandon University Bobcats Athletics visit:


For more information, please contact:

Matt Packwood
Sports Administration Assistant
Brandon University
(204) 727-7375


To receive any BU publication in an alternate format please contact

About BU

Success is built at Brandon University. Our growing, progressive campus welcomes a diverse and inclusive community that combines proud tradition with shared ambition. Through our excellence in teaching, research, and scholarship, we educate students to make a meaningful difference as engaged citizens and leaders. Join us at